2019 Poetry Competition

Our judges take please in announcing the names of the  poets who were selected by our external judges as finalists in this year’s Poetry Competition –  The Heart of The Moon


Adre Marshall

Keith Gottschalk

Marieta McGrath

Toni Stuart

Sue Woodward

Rob Leiper

Beth Hunt

Jane De Sousa

Tanita da Silva

Suenel Holloway

Dorian Haarhof

Malika Ndlovu

Janine Milne

Tracy Chalmers

Elisa Galgut

Laina Lesicnik


Lukhanyo Gwebityale

Zu Rayday Fortuin

Jamie Davids

Mothibedi Sefatsa

Danelle Snyman

Olana Zilwa

Zindi van Zyl

Emihle Sigidi

Lida Jansen


Hope to see you at the Prize giving Friday 23rd of August at 17h00

The theme of this year’s poetry writing competition is The Heart of The Moon.

Entries are invited in 2 categories as follows:

  1. Junior Category for children and teenagers under the age of 18.

Prizes: First prize of R2500 and a runner-up prize of R500.

  1. Adult Category – entrants must be over the age of 18.

Prizes: First prize of R5000; runner-up prize of R2500 and highly commended prize of R500


  • this competition is open to everyone (published and unpublished poets)
  • only one entry per person will be permitted
  • poems should be not exceed 24 lines
  • entries may be in English or Afrikaans
  • closing date for entries is the 30th June 2019.
  • finalists will be informed by the 31st of July to give time to attend the prize giving if you wish to (this is optional but finalists who are able to attend will be given free entry to all events).
  • the winners will be announced during the Poetry in McGregor Weekend (23 to 25 August) and the winning poems read by an accomplished poet
  • the winning poems may be included in the 2019 Poetry in McGregor anthology
  • entries must be emailed to info@poetryinmcgregor.co.za or hand delivered to Temenos (corner Voortrekker and Bree Streets, McGregor)
  • please note that there will be no correspondence entered into whatsoever and receipt of entries will not be acknowledged
  • Details to be included: Name, Contact details, ID Number and Category selected. Entries will be automatically disqualified if any of this information is missing

Thank you to the following Sponsors for their support of Poetry in McGregor events