Joint Winners 2020

Chris Mann for his poem A farewell in advance of death

Ilze Olckers for her renderings into Afrikaans of Rumi’s Zero Sirkel, and Rainer Maria Rilke’s Liewe Verdonkerende Grond


Acclaim 2020

Lionel Abrahams (1928-2004) for publishing, during the height of apartheid, the poetry of Oswald Mtshali and Mongane Wally Serote, through his Renoster Press, thus heralding the emergence of black poetry in South Africa; and also for his own contribution to the South African canon.