It is with great pleasure that we announce the winners of the inaugural “Patricia Schonstein Poetry in McGregor Award”.

Since our first festival of 2013, participating poets have shared inspired and inspiring works through their readings. Each year we have compiled an anthology to honour the presenting poets; to grant longevity to the festival of that year; and to capture at least some of the magic for people unable to attend. All poets published in the anthologies were considered for the Award.


The Award has been granted ‘retrospectively’ and presented at the recent 2017 Festival. It is with great pleasure that we announce:

Winner 2013: Graham Dukas

Winner 2014: Justin Fox

Winner 2015: Margaret Clough

Winner 2016: Gaireyah Fredericks

Acclaim 2016: Hugh Hodge for his service to poetry through his Off-the-Wall events

Acclaim 2016: James Matthews for Lifetime Achievement in Poetry

Acclaim 2016: Anne Schuster for her service to poetry through mentorship